Chris' Soundtrack Corner   Chris' Soundtrack Corner
  Top » Catalog » Buysoundtrax » Dragon's Domain Records DDR-746 My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  My Wishlist  |  Checkout   
Dario Argento
Game Soundtracks
Italian Peplum
Italian Western
James Bond
Pinky Violence/Yakuza
Alain Delon
Arnold Schwarzenegger
Bruce Willis
Bud Spencer
Charles Bronson
Clint Eastwood
Dolph Lundgren
Frank Sinatra
Humphrey Bogart
Jean-Claude Van Damme
Jean-Paul Belmondo
John Wayne
Louis de Funès
Steve McQueen
Sylvester Stallone
Terence Hill
Vinyl LPs
Chris' Soundtrack Corner
Spanish CDs
French CDs
Korean CDs
Japanese CDs
one-of-a-kind CDs

All CDs
Aleph (Lalo Schifrin)
Beat Records
Cinéfonia Records
Disques CinéMusique
Easy Tempo
Film Score Monthly
fin de siècle media
JOS Records
La-La Land
Michael J. Lewis Promos
Monstrous Movie Music
Numenorean Music
Rai Trade
RCA Spain
Silva Screen
Tadlow Music
Tiliqua Records
Universal France
Varèse Sarabande
Varèse Sarabande Club
More Labels
All Score Media
Bear Family Records
Caldera Records
CAM Sugar
Dutton Vocalion
Hitchcock Media
Hollywood Records
Howlin' Wolf Records
Image Music
Kronos Records
Label "X"
Movie Score Media
Music Box Records
New Line Records
Quartet Records
Rosetta Records
Southern Cross/Didgeridoo
Spheris Records
Trunk Records
Shipping Charges
Terms of Use
Legal Notice
Contact Us

No Retreat, No Surrender 2 (David Spear)

22.95 EUR  
  No Retreat, No Surrender 2 - David Spear - soundtrack (CD)

David Spear

  Dragon's Domain Records DDR-746 | Format CD | Year 1987

Dragon's Domain Records presents the world premiere release of the original motion picture soundtrack to NO RETREAT, NO SURRENDER 2, composed by David Spear for the 1987 action film directed by the legendary Corey Yuen (FONG SAI YUK 1 & 2, THE TRANSPORTER) and starring Loren Avedon, Max Thayer, Matthias Hues and Cynthia Rothrock.

Released in 1987 following the unexpected success of NO RETREAT, NO SURRENDER the year before, which happened to include the theatrical debut of Belgian screen actor, martial artist, and fight choreographer Jean-Claude Van Damme and also directed by Corey Yuen, NO RETREAT, NO SURRENDER 2 was intended to be a direct sequel to the first film but actually began life as a different film called RAGING THUNDER. When the original film's stars chose not to return, the story and characters were altered to form a completely new narrative. Even though no elements of the story remained to connect it to the original film, the title was changed to NO RETREAT, NO SURRENDER 2, or NO RETREAT, NO SURRENDER 2: RAGING THUNDER. The film was also released in parts of the world as KARATE TIGER 2.

The story begins in Vietnam, where American college student Scott Wylde (Avedon) arrives looking for his former teacher and best friend Mac (Thayer). A former lover of Jarvis' named Terry (Rothrock) tells Scott that Mac is likely in Patpong, a seedy area of Bangkok, Thailand. After dinner with his fiancé Sulin, a gang of tough types crash into Scott's room kidnapping Sulin. Scott is detained by local authorities and sent to the airport to board a plane for Singapore. He escapes and heads to Patpong, where he locates and recruits Jarvis to help him invade Cambodia to rescue his fiancé. Scott learns that Sulin's father was a famous Vietnamese general who, for the sake of his family, reneged on a lucrative deal with the Soviet militia. The next day Scott and Jarvis are ambushed by Thai police; however, Terry swoops in and rescues the pair in a helicopter. Scott, Mac, and Terry arrive in Cambodia threatening all out war in hopes of rescuing poor Sulin.

The music for NO RETREAT, NO SURRENDER 2 was composed by David Spear, a prolific composer, conductor and orchestrator. Spear composed the bulk of his music for NO RETREAT, NO SURRENDER 2 using piano/keyboards, bass, guitar, drums, and an EVI—an electronic valve instrument using the Boehm fingering system utilized by most woodwind instruments. Spear and multiple reels of tapes were flown up to Vancouver along with all of the hand-written orchestrations and hand-copied parts for the final orchestra sessions.

David Spear began his career orchestrating many film scores for Elmer Bernstein including AIRPLANE, ANIMAL HOUSE, HEAVY METAL and GHOSTBUSTERS. After his Broadway debut as Music Director of MERLIN, THE MAGICAL MUSICAL, Spear wrote scores for three Academy Award nominated films: RAINBOW WAR, BALLET ROBOTIQUE, and THE COURAGE TO CARE. He composed the music for the Emmy Award winning National Geographic documentary, SURVIVING EVEREST. One of his first major scores was for the 1981 vampire thriller FEAR NO EVIL, composed in collaboration with the film's writer/director Frank LaLoggia. He led the Indianapolis Symphony for the 2008 premiere of THE LANGSTON HUGHES PROJECT featuring Ice-T and the Ron McCurdy Quartet. A dedicated educator, Spear served as faculty at Berklee College of Music (1991-1995), USC Thornton School of Music (1995-2006), NYU (2009-2013), and at Portland State as 2017 Artist-in-Residence. His work in academia and industry thrives on decades of creative collaboration with many notable artists, directors and scholars.

Dragon's Domain Records presents NO RETREAT, NO SURRENDER 2, featuring music composed by David Spear for the very first time on compact disc. The music has been mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland and the liner notes have been written by author and composer Brian Satterwhite, with the participation of the composer.


  Track listing:

01 Prologue/Main Title (Everywhere With You)* (3:06)
02 Scott in the Box/Bangkok (3:06)
03 Love Theme/Hotel Fight (3:50)
04 "You're Under Arrest"/Motorcycle Escape/Snakes (4:51)
05 After Dinner Brawl (2:43)
06 Arms and Legs (3:08)
07 Preparation (2:39)
08 Balcony Scene/Welcome to Cambodia/TOLNOL/Climb Death Mountain/Centipede (4:43)
09 Yuri's Arrival/The Sadist (5:08)
10 The Trek/Buddist Attack (4:37)
11 Turn the Boat Around/The Real Monks/Terry's Turn (5:21)
12 Waterfall (2:59)
13 Dear Old Dead Dad/The Girl's Behind Door #2 (2:34)
14 Strategy (3:22)
15 The Pit/The Rescue (4:23)
16 Bury Terry/The Trek II (3:14)
17 Raging Thunder Theme (1:15)
18 New Order (5:13)
19 Mozart Minuet (1:14)
20 Dear President Hussain (2:52)
21 Everywhere With You (Alternate Mix)* (2:11)
22 Waterfall (Extended Alternate Mix) (3:46)
23 Raging Thunder Theme (Edit Version) (0:53)
* - Vocal : Lisa Donovan
Customers who bought this product also purchased
Incubo Sulla Città Contaminata
Incubo Sulla Città Contaminata
The Boy Who Could Fly
The Boy Who Could Fly
Atomic Train
Atomic Train
Blood On The Crown
Blood On The Crown
Night Caller
Night Caller
The Ernest Gold Collection Vol. 1
The Ernest Gold Collection Vol. 1
The Ken Thorne Collection Vol. 1
The Ken Thorne Collection Vol. 1
The Joel Goldsmith Collection Vol. 2
The Joel Goldsmith Collection Vol. 2
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
Shopping Cart more
0 items
All orders over 100.00 EUR receive FREE shipping within Germany.
New CDs more
Franz Waxman: Legendary Hollywood Vol. 1 (Pre-Order!)
Franz Waxman: Legendary Hollywood Vol. 1 (Pre-Order!)
22.95 EUR
English Deutsch
David Spear
We accept

Copyright © 2018 osCommerce
Powered by osCommerce